Property Tax Assessment
Residential property is assessed at 25% of the appraised value and taxes are .90 cents per $100 dollars of assessed value.
Commercial property is assessed at 40% of appraised value and taxes are .90 cents per $100 dollars of assessed value.
Personal property is assessed at 30% of appraised value and taxes are .90 cents per $100 dollars of assessed value. For more information on personal property taxes go to: Personal Property
You may view property assessment information at www.assessment.state.tn.us and enter Henry County.
If you do not receive a notice by the end of October, please notify the Henry County Trustee Office. Current calendar year property taxes are due and payable without penalty or interest from October 1 of the current year through February 28. Property taxes over a year old will be turned over to Chancery Court for collection.
Property TaxFrequently Asked Questions
Are tax notices required to be mailed?
Tennessee law does not require the mailing of tax notices indicating the amount of taxes due. Owners of property are presumed to know that taxes are due without personal notice. Failure to receive a tax bill does not relieve the responsibility of payment, nor is this a reason for interest charges to be dismissed if the tax bill becomes delinquent.
When are property tax bills mailed out?
Current property tax bills are mailed during October of each year. If a deed change occurs after the first of the year, a tax bill is mailed to the new owner of the property as a courtesy. New owners should contact their title company or review their closing statement to determine who is responsible for paying the taxes. Unpaid taxes continue to accrue against the property.
When are property taxes due?
Taxes are due and payable the first Monday of October and must be paid in full by the last day of February of the following year to avoid interest charges.
Are partial payments accepted for taxes?
Yes. However, any amount left unpaid when the taxes become delinquent will accrue interest. Until the tax amount is paid in full, a tax lien will remain in effect on your property. It is the property owners’ responsibility to make sure all taxes are paid in full.
What if I miss the tax payment deadline?
On the first day of each month beginning March 1, interest of 1.5% per month (18% annually) is added to your tax amount. Postmarked envelopes are accepted for current year taxes. If not postmarked by the U.S. Postal Service by the last day of February, it is considered a late payment. If taxes remain delinquent for one year, they will be turned over to Chancery Court and will accumulate additional fees and property will be subject to be sold in the county tax sale. Delinquent Tax FAQ
What time period do my annual taxes cover?
The taxes that become payable in October cover the current calendar year.
Where can I pay my taxes?
The Henry County Trustee office is located in the Henry County Courthouse Annex at 213 West Washington Street. Office hours are 8:00 am – 4:30 pm Monday – Friday. Payments may also be placed in the drop box after hours. Please note that a receipt will not be mailed unless requested. Our mailing address is P.O. Box 776, Paris, TN 38242.
Can I pay my property taxes with a debit or credit card?
Yes, we accept all major credit cards. However, we only accept them in person (not over the phone). Also, the vendor charges a service fee of 4.0% per transaction.
Does my mortgage company get a copy of my tax bill mailed to them?
No. It is the property owner’s responsibility to forward tax bills to their mortgage company. The City of Paris does provide the mortgage companies the tax information when requested.
What should I do if my name and/or address are incorrect?
Contact the Property Assessor’s Office at 731-642-0162.
What is the City of Paris property tax rate?
The 2022 tax rate is .80 cents per $100 dollars of assessed value.
What is the assessed value of property?
The assessed value of property is a percentage of the total appraisal. The Property Assessor is responsible for the appraisal and assessment of property. You may contact the Property Assessor’s office at 731-642-0162.
What is Tax Relief?
Tax relief is payment by the State of Tennessee for reimbursement of property taxes from qualifying homeowners who are 65 or older, disabled and/or a veteran. For qualifying applicants, the state will pay all or part of the property taxes on their home depending on the maximum amount of tax relief credit given. For more information regarding tax relief you may visit the State of Tennessee website: https://www.comptroller.tn.gov/office-functions/pa/property-taxes/property-tax-programs/tax-relief.html